T - Mobile

November 1, 2011

To: Susanna Kooistra – MCC Email: <u>susanna.kooistra@etsi.org</u>

CC: Steve Barclay - Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions Email: <u>sbarclay@atis.org</u>

CC: Dr. Asok Chatterjee - Ericsson E-mail: <u>asok.chatterjee@ericsson.com</u>

Re: Nomination for 3GPP SA1 Working Group Vice Chairman

Greetings:

On behalf of T-Mobile USA Inc and Deutsche Telekom., please accept the nomination of Mark Younge for the leadership position of Vice Chairman of the 3GPP SA1 Working Group.

Mr. Younge has over 20 years experience in the Telecommunications and Standardization field and has served in the leadership of TIA, ATIS, GSMA/NA, OMA, and 3GPP as well as numerous other industry fora in past years.

Currently, Mr. Younge is Staff Architect (MTS) with T-Mobile USA. He serves as Vice Chairman of ATIS WTSC (having previously served as WTSC Chairman), is a member of the ATIS delegation to the 3GPP Program Coordination Group (PCG) and administers the North American Friends of 3GPP hosting group. In addition, Mark also chairs the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) Location Working Group (LOC). He has participated in SA1 since 1999 and has served as chair of the WLAN SWG and rapporteur for several documents.

T-Mobile USA and Deutsche Telekom believes that Mr. Younge's experience in the standardization of the GSM family of technologies, his leadership in those standardization efforts and his long participation in SA1 give him the necessary tools to continue to effectively carry out the duties of this leadership position in the 3GPP. If elected to Vice Chairman of the SA1 Working Group, T-Mobile US will provide the necessary resources and support for Mr. Younge to accomplish the duties and responsibilities of that office.

With best regards,

/signature on file/

Bala Subramanian Vice President – Enterprise Architecture T-Mobile USA Inc.