Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects

Meeting #20, Hämeenlinna, Finland

09-12 June 2003

Source: Meeting host

Title: Churchboat rowing competition

Document for: Information

Agenda Item: evening session

The summer has shown all the pros and cons during these few days in Hämeenlinna. It has been raining, like normally in Finnish summer, but also some sunshine has been there.

Tonight the forecast has promised "no rain" thus Nokia has decided to organise an additional meeting program. There will be a Church Boat rowing competition for meeting participants.

What is a **Churchboat**: In the old times when there were no cars and roads people used these boats to go from their villages to the church on Sundays. The traditional wooden churchboat has 7 pairs of oars (14 person) plus a coxswain ("navigation officer") sitting at the aft of the boat.









We have 3 churchboats waiting near the lake in the front of hotel.

There will be 3 teams made out of meeting participants: operators boat, vendors boat and combined chairmen and MCC boat.

There will English speaking coxswains in each boat to explain what to do and how to row.

No specific sports cloths needed, normal casual is OK.

Operators boat	Manufacturers	Special
Roger Wireless	Lucent	Niels Andersen, SA chair
George Babut	Liz Daniel	David Barnes, DTI
DoCoMo	Ericsson	Francois Courau, RAN chair
Takashi Koshimizu	Jonas Sundborg	Gary Jones, SA vc
Cingular	Siemens	Steven Hayes, CN chair
Don Zelmer	Ulrich Dropmann	Sang-Keun Park, T chair
T-Mobile	Motorola	Michele Zarri, SA1 chair
Tony Wiener	Andrew Howell	Magnus Olsson, SA2 chair
mmO2	Nokia	Michael Truss, SA5 chair
Steve Mecrow	Markus Hakaste	Hiroshi Nakamura, SA vc
Orange	Samsung	Ian Park, CN vc
Nick Sampson	Hynunwoo Lee	Heikki Ahava, Nokia
J-phone	RIM	
Hiroshi Komatsu	Paul Carpenter	MCC
Telia-Sonera	Nortel	Maurice Pope
Kari Marttinen	Iain Sharp	Adrian Scrase
AWS	Fujitsu	
Gary Schlanger	Eisuke Fukuda	
TIM	NEC	
Antonella Napolitano	Furuya Yukitsuna	
Vodafone	Telecordia	
Armin Toepfer	James Garrahan	
Telefonica	HuaWei	
Pilar Sierra	Yanhong Wang	
THREE	Qualcomm	
Bill Szelazek	David Williams	
Swisscom	Sharp	
Magnus Qvarnstroem	Sood Pram	